19 - 22 October 2023

en mk
19 October National Opera and Ballet, 20:00 NOB, 20:00

with FAME’S INSTITUTE ORCHESTRA arranged and conducted by DZIJAN EMIN

Get ticket

JAN BANG composer, live sampling

ARVE HENRIKSEN composer, trumpet, voice

DZIJAN EMIN arranger, conductor

INGAR ZACH percussion

GEIR ØSTENSJØ sound engineer


After the Wildfire is a commissioned piece for orchestra with the two composers Arve Henriksen and Jan Bang as soloists together with percussion player Ingar Zach. The music is arranged and conducted for the F.A.M.E.S. Institute Orchestra by Dzijan Emin and it will be premiered on October 19 at the Skopje Jazz Festival. Jan Bang is an internationally acclaimed Norwegian musician, composer, record producer and professor, as well as the artistic director of the internationally renowned Punkt festival. He is one of Norway’s most accomplished and influential producers and the kind of musical innovator. Arve Henriksen is probably Norway´s most versatile musician of his generation, known for his very unique and personal voice on the trumpet. He is also one of the most eloquent collaborators in contemporary music, who has worked with a vast array of Norwegian and international musicians, including David Sylvian, Dhafer Youssef, Jon Hassell, Hope Sandoval, Laurie Anderson, John Paul Jones, Ryuichi Sakamoto, Jon Balke, Marilyn Mazur and Arild Andersen, among many others. Bang and Henriksen first performed at Skopje Jazz Festival in 2009. A double bill with the late Jon Hassell, the concert where Bang also was part of Hassell´s band. After the Wildfire consists of eight pieces written for trumpet, sampler, orchestra, percussion, kaval, zurla and voice. The performance includes Norwegian drummer Ingar Zach and features appearances by some of the finest Macedonian singers and kaval players.